Danielle Ffrench

 

Danielle FFrench - Canberra, ACT

My career in the Equestrian industry has been long standing, some 30 plus years. I currently hold a position as a professional rider and coach as the Chief Instructor at my family owned business Gooromon Park Horse Riding Centre. A role I love for both the rewarding experience of coaching beginners through to coaching and mentoring the advanced riders Development Squad. Watching our riders progress to their own big wins is a great thrill.
I have trained a variety of horses to FEI over the years, I am currently riding and training two competition horses, Hollands Bend Skyfall, who is about to have his first FEI start shortly and Holland Bends For Amour, who I am quietly developing and building his confidence.
I’m passionate about horses and sharing my knowledge with the next generation of riders.
I first tried on Black Horse clothing at the 2018 Sydney CDI and I was hooked by the quality, bright colours, but more importantly the exceptional fit. Nothing has really changed, I've thoroughly enjoyed my partnership with Black Horse Clothing and thrilled to support and an Australian based small business.

My favourite Black Horse Clothing item... I am currently obsessed with the Ebony Glitter Trim Breeches. These are my day to day, they're mid weight so not too tight, they have just enough bling to make me feel special everyday. I can't go past the Bridget Meryl Comfort Breeches when competing, now that I am in tails I don't have a jacket to hide bulgy bits, yes we all have them - so my must haves are the Bridgets.

QUICK FACTS

  • The first time I ever rode a horse was when…

    I started riding when I was 6 years old. I actually can't remember a time I haven't ridden - the longest period I've had off a horse is 8 weeks - that includes having two kids. It's just my gig, it's who I am. Some people don't get that - but I know a lot of you will just absolutely get that!

  • Other occupation or study outside of riding?
    I used to work for the Australian Government in Marketing and headed rather large campaigns. These days I am a coach and business manager at our family run Gooromon Park Riding Centre, who proudly supports our competition passions.

  • If I never became a horse rider, I would probably…

    I think I'd definitely be pursuing some type of artist career, I have a diploma in Fashion Design and used to play top level competitive Netball. I'd also like to think I'd have a cleaner house!

  • The biggest achievement of my career so far is…
    I hope it's yet to come, I think when you say that the biggest you start to limit your thinking - I have a very exciting FEI horse this year I am building his confidence before really stepping forward competitively. Each year I competed at Dressage with the Stars has been a highlight. It's certainly one of my favorite competitions.
  • A fun fact about me is that…
    I am a bit obsessed with the nitty gritty of riding, the biomechanics and techniques that drive me to get better all the time.  I also love trashy reality TV like MAFS.

You Can Follow Danielle At:

@dressage_mum
@gooromon_park

Gooromon Park Riding School